What is IPL: Complete Overview

IPL, or Indian Premier League, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league and the world’s best cricket league in the world. India has gained immense popularity across the world. In this article, we will provide you with a complete overview and everything you need to know about IPL, including its history, format, teams, players, and much more.

What is IPL?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that is hosted by India. The first edition of IPL is played in 2008 and that is conducted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In starting there are fan following is not good but currently, the IPL becomes the most-watched cricket league in the world. The league is played every year from March to May, with ten teams representing different cities in India. Players are chosen by the Auction process and in the IPL national and international all players are allowed to play but follow their rules and regulation.

Check Out: IPL 2023 Schedule

How did the IPL come about?

The IPL is first time introduced in 2008 after the Indian cricket team won the ICC World Twenty20 in 2007. The BCCI saw an opportunity to create a domestic league that would attract some of the best players in the world and showcases Indian talent. Cricket fans are so excited about IPL because is the first time any of this type of league is organized by India. The league was modeled on the English Premier League and was designed to be a franchise-based league, with players being bought and sold at auction.

What is IPL

History of the IPL

The IPL has been around for over a decade now, so it has a rich history. As well as Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, and Virat Kohli, some of the biggest names in cricket have played in the league, not just Indian players, but also many big names from other countries like Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Australian player Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, South African batsman AB De Villiers. Chris Gayle’s record-breaking and greatest inning 175 runs in a single match were one of the most memorable moments in the IPL.

Rules and Regulations

There are some rules specific to the IPL that differ from those of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Each team plays 14 matches in the league stage, with the top four teams qualifying for the playoffs. The winner of the playoffs is crowned the IPL champion.


There are ten teams that participate in the IPL, representing different cities in India. The below table provides you with the team’s name, representing the city, home ground, and owner. Each team has a squad of 25 players, with a maximum of eight overseas players.

What is IPL

TeamCityHome GroundOwnerDebut
Mumbai IndiansMumbai, MaharastraWankhede StadiumMukesh Ambani2008
Chennai Super KingsChennai, Tamil NaduM.A. Chidambaram StadiumN. Srinivasan2008
Sunriser HyderabadHyderabad, TelanganaRajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumKalanithi Maran2013
Royal Challengers BangloreBanglore, KarnatakaM. Chinnaswamy StadiumUnited Spirit2008
Delhi CapitalsNew Delhi, DelhiArun Jaitley StadiumSajan JindalG.M. Rao2008
Punjab KingsMohali, PunjabInderjit Singh Bindra StadiumMohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Karan Paul2008
Gujarat TitansAhmedabad, GujaratNarendra Modi StadiumSteve Koltes, Donald Mackenzie,Rolly van Rappard2022
Lucknow Super GiantsLucknow, Uttar PradeshBRSABV Ekana Cricket StadiumSanjiv Goenka2022
Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur, RajasthanSawai Mansingh StadiumManoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch, Gerry Cardinale, Shane Warne2008
Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata, West BengalEden GardensShah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chalwa, Jay Mehta2008

Teams Head Coach and Winner

TeamCaptainHead CoachTitle
Mumbai IndiansRohit SharmaMark Boucher2013, 2015, 2017, 2019,  2020
Chennai Super KingsMS DhoniStephen Fleming2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Royal Challengers BangloreFaf Du PlessisSanjay Bangar  —
Delhi CapitalsRishabh PantRicky Ponting
Sunriser HyderabadAiden MarkramBrian Lara2016
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju SamsonKumar Sangakkara2008
Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas IyerChandrakant Pandit2012, 2014
Lucknow Super GiantsKL RahulAndy Flower
Gujarat TitansHardik PandyaAshish Nehra2022
Punjab KingsShikhar DhawanTrevor Bayliss
Deccan Chargers (F)2009

Defunct Team

Deccan ChargersHyderabad, TelanganaT. Venkattram Reddy, Gayatri Reddy20082012
Gujarat LionsRajkot, GujaratKeshav Bansal20162018
Pune Warriors IndiaPune, MaharastraSubrata Roy20112013
Kochi Tusker KeralaKochi, KeralaKochi Cricket Pvt, Ltd.20112011
Rising Pune SupergiantPune MaharastraSanjiv Goenka20162018

Let’s Predict: Who will win IPL 2023


What is IPL

Orange CapTop run-scorer
Purple CapTop wicket-taker
FairplayBest record of fair play
Most Valuable PlayerMan of the tournament

IPL Brand Value

Mumbai Indians become the most valuable brand, at $83 million.

What is IPL


CountryLive StreamingYear
IndiaStar Sport & Jio cinema2023 – 2027
United StatesWillow TV & ESPN+2023
Sri LankaYupp TV2022 – continue 
BangladeshGazi TV2023
CanadaWillow TV & Hotstar Canada2022 – continue
New ZealandSky Sport2021 – continue
United KingdomVcom18 & Sky Sport2023


Finally, the Indian Premier League is a very popular cricket league around the world and in India. The tournament has brought together some of the best players in the world and has given Indian talent a chance to shine. It is our sincere hope that our comprehensive guide to the IPL has helped you learn more about the league and its storied history.

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave them below.


When IPL was started?

In 2008, IPL was introduced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Which player hits the first century in the IPL?

Brendon McCullum 158* (73) hits the first century in the IPL.

Which Indian player hits the first century in the IPL?

Manish Pandey hit the first century in the IPL as an Indian player.

What is the full form of IPL?

IPL stands for Indian Premier League.

Which team won the most titles?

Mumbai Indians won five times the IPL titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019,  2020) and make a record.

Leave a Comment

You have Successfully Subscribed!